Spelt is believed to have originated in the Near East over 8,000 years ago, eventually making its way into Europe, particularly Germany. The mildly-nutty tasting spelt berry is considered an ancient grain much like einkorn and is even referenced in the Bible. This ancient title means the berry has not been hybridized like our common modern-day whole wheat. Spelt has a lower gluten content than today’s wheat, making it easier to digest. People with minor gluten sensitives can often consume spelt without the issues associated with whole wheat, however, spelt is NOT gluten-free and should not be used by those with celiac disease or a severe gluten intolerance. Here you’ll find recipes made with spelt flour, from muffins to cookies to dry pancake mix.